Japan map
Chūbu map
Hakusan 2'702 m / Nationalpark
100 famous Japanese Mountains
Japanese Nationalparks
Japan map Hakusan Gifu, Fukui and Ishikawa Prefecture
map Tablet
map Tablet
Japan map Hakusan Gifu, Fukui and Ishikawa Prefecture

The Hakusan or Mt. Haku is situated at the border of Gifu, Fukui and Ishikawa Prefectures.  

It is the main peak of a large mountain range (Kaetsu Mountains), which extends for about 40 kilometres in north-south direction. Around the Kaetsu Mountains was established at September 12, 1962 the Hakusan Nationalpark. It covers an area of 499 square kilometres.  

In the centre of the range are the three highest main peaks. Seven large and small crater lakes are dotting the summit area with the Gozengamine (2'702 m), Kengamine (2'677 m) and Oonanjimine (2'684 m). Those three summits are known as Mount Haku's Three Peaks. Other lists are including Mt. Bessan (2'399 m) and San-no-mine (2'128 m) and so called as Mount Haku's Five Peaks. 

The Hakusan is one of the 100 famous Japanese mountains and along with Mt. Fuji and Tate-yama one of Japan's "Three Holy Mountains", known as Sanreizan.

Other summits within the Kaetsu Mountains and the Hakusan Nationalpark are the Nanakura-yama (2'516 m), Yotsuzuka-yama (2'520 m), Hakusansyaka-dake (2'053 m), Mount Ōgasa (1'841 m), Dainichi-ga-take (1'709 m), Mount Nodanishōji (1'797 m), Mount Sanpōiwa (1'736 m) and others.


mountainstamp.com Hakusan stamp 1963

Japan 1963, Hakusan. 


mountainstamp.com Hakusan Midorigaike Crater lake stamp 1963  

apan 1963, Midorigaike pond, Hakusan.
The Midorigaike pond is the largest of the seven ponds on the summit area of the Hakusan.


mountainstamp.com Hakusan stamp 1983

Japan 1983, Hakusan. 


mountainstamp.com Hakusan stamp 1998

Japan 1998, Hakusan. 


Japan 1999 Gassho-Zukuri-House of Shirakawa-go (left) and Gassho-Zukuri-Houses of Gokayama (right). stamp timbre Briefmarke francobolli

Japan 1999
Gassho-Zukuri-House of Gokayama (left) and Gassho-Zukuri-Houses of Shirakawa-go (right).  

Shirakawa-go and neighboring Gokayama are mountain villages located at the foothills of the Hakusan Mountains. The village area is upto 95.7% of mountainous forests and has been declared as an UNESCO world heritage site since 1995. They are famous for their traditional gassho-zukuri farmhouses and some of them are more than 250 years old.  


 Japan 2002 Ishikawa Alps stamp timbre Briefmarke francobolli

Japan 2002, title of the stamps: Ishikawa Alps.
(Ishikawa Alps, named after Ishikawa Prefecture, means also mountains of the Hakusan Range)

On the two stamps on the left is represented the Mount Bessan (2'399 m) together with the flowers Adenophora triphylla and Fritillaria, On the two on the right the Geranium yesoense and the Anemone narcissiflora with the Mount Gozengamine (2'702 m), which is the highest peak of the Hakusan range.  



Japan 2003, Fukada Kyuya
The Hakusan in the background. 

Fukada Kyuya (1903 - 1971) was born at Daishōji on March 11, 1903 near the Haku-san Mountains. He was a Japanese mountaineer, writer and well known for his book Nihon Hyaku-meizan (100 famous Japanese mountains).  

Japan Hakusan stamp timbre Briefmarke francobolli issued Japan 1990Japan Hakusan stamp timbre Briefmarke francobolli issued Japan 1995Japan Hakusan stamp timbre Briefmarke francobolli issued Japan 2010

Japan 1990/1995/2010.
The stamps are showing a view from Takayama region towards Hakusan.  

Japan 2011, Hakusan.
The stamp was issued in the sheet "Japanese Mountains Series No 1". 

Japan 2014, Hakusan, view from Kibagata.
The stamp was issued in the series
"60th Anniversary Series of the Enforcement of the Local Autonomy Ishikawa Prefecture".


Japan map
Chūbu map